Photo Surprise

Ever notice how sometimes you get so caught up in looking for one thing you miss something else that is even better? That is what happened here. I was so busy photographing and looking at the flower that I missed the little fellow to the right of the flower! Only when I got home and was able to look at the pictures did I even see him. I had to do some research to find out that he is a southern two-lined salamander.  I can tell you that he is VERY small since the flower is quite small. I believe the flower is a “common violet” even though these were white. For anyone who wants to tell me what it is, the picture was taken near the horse camp in the Cataloochee Valley part of the Great Smoky Mountains National Park in April.

One thought on “Photo Surprise

  1. Awesome! I hadn’t heard of that salamander before. It’s a really good photo of it. It’s so tiny. I love happy surprises like this. Such good fun! 🙂

Leave a comment