Horizontal Hive

Here is our newest bee hive. img_0005It is our version of the horizontal Langstroth hive I found here and here. We decided we like beekeeping but needed a better system that didn’t involve so much lifting. We looked at another idea which I will share in another post but decided this was the best for us. So when my grandson said he needed a project for his SAE project for Future Farmers, I saw my opportunity to make it. One of the really neat things about this one is that much of the material came from recycled materials we had saved. This one will hold up to 40 frames and has slats in it so you can check bees without distrubing all of the bees.

I also wanted something that would be pleasing to look at when a person drove by since our home is on a fairly busy road now. I thought it would fun to make the hive a piece of  yard art. I hope to sell some hives. But this one will be kept for me.  Enjoy the pictures.

img_0006

2 thoughts on “Horizontal Hive

  1. I’ve never seen a hive like yours. It’s sounds like it’s going to be a real honey. I wish you much success with it and with selling them. 🙂

Leave a Reply

