Mixing it up in 2015

I considered writing about what was the favorite posts from the past year. However, instead I decided to share something I made this week. I have always wanted to combine knitting and crochet. I got a 4 piece knitting loom set from AC Moore, and some Bernat’s Blanket yarn. My husband wanted a lap blanket from this yarn. After I made the center panel on the biggest loom, I crocheted a shell stitch border.teal blanket teal blanket1

This blanket symbolizes what I think this year will be for me. A mixture of old and new, learning new things to complement what I already know, blending 2 families as one and whatever else life tosses to me. We will be moving into a new home soon, only an acre away but oh so much to do. My son married a beautiful girl in December and with this we gained a daughter and another grandson. We are blessed because they will be living with us. I am continuing to work with special needs pre-k children but hope to expand in the year. I added the charity group Feel Better Friends and plan to work with the local hospital NICU unit this year. I can’t wait to see what the year brings.

2 thoughts on “Mixing it up in 2015

  1. The added crochet border on the lap blanket is a wonderful idea and gives it a nice finished edge.
    Combining 2 yarn arts makes for a broader selection of items that can be made. I also enjoy the uniqueness of the finished piece.
    You’re doing an awesome job with your loom knitting, I look forward to seeing more of your creations.
    Congratulations on the new family members. I hope your move goes pleasantly.
    Wishing you a very Happy New Year! 🙂

Leave a comment