Making cheese

A couple of weeks ago I ordered a cheese DIY kit from Urban cheesecraft. I promised I would write a review as soon as I tried it. I just got through making my first batch. I decided to make Winter Solstice Honeyed Ricotta. It was easy, and delicious.

The only problem I had was I didn’t get it as creamy as I wanted. However, I think I will get better as I make a few more batches. This is an inexpensive way to try out cheese making. I recommend it.

IMG_0058IMG_0060

4 thoughts on “Making cheese

  1. Thanks for the update, I have recently been given cheese DIY kit as a present, but haven’t tried it out yet, it’s now on my list of things to do 🙂

  2. Nadine,
    I used to have goats and I made cheese several different ways. Sometimes I used a starter culture, but you can make simple cheese by bringing the milk to a certain temperature (can’t remember how hot naturally) and then adding lemon juice or vinegar. With the lemon juice it has a delicate and lovely flavor. With this method it has a cream cheese like texture, but is SO much more delicious than what you buy in the store.
    I found your Etsy shop and I am delighted to discover another maker in North Carolina.
    Cheers,
    joy

Leave a Reply

